Set amidst the picture-postcard village of Ford, Lady Waterford Hall was commissioned in 1860 by Louisa Anne, Marchioness of Waterford, as part of her philanthropic work, to serve as a school for local children.
To aid them in their learning, Louisa spent 21 years painting the Biblical watercolour murals that now adorn the walls of the Hall. They feature the faces of the community – clergymen, gardeners, gamekeepers, miners, teachers and the children who attended this school.
Today, the Hall is open to the public as a museum telling the story of this unique village and of the remarkable lady who created it.
Find out more about this unique building, visit our website here