Lady Waterford Hall
Welcome to the Lady Waterford Hall!
This inspiring building was commissioned in 1860 by Louisa Anne, Marchioness of Waterford, and owner of Ford Estate. It was the village school until 1957 and in its heyday had as many as 134 local children on the register. Now used as the village hall (available to hire for private functions) it is much more besides and really is a ‘must see’ on a visit to North Northumberland.
Lady Waterford was a keen English artist associated with John Ruskin and the Pre-Raphaelite movement and spent 21 years decorating the interior of the Hall with stunning Biblical scenes as a teaching aid for pupils. Many of the children and other villagers were used as models and can be clearly seen on the walls. Louisa Waterford is now recognised as one of the most interesting and gifted artists of her time and many of her original smaller artworks are displayed in the Hall, as well as a display from her sketchbooks. Come and discover Louisa’s masterpiece for yourself at the Lady Waterford Hall.
Family activities are available for all ages: Museum Detective trail, word searches and anagrams, Victoriana books and games on display, and more.
Groups (of 11+ people) are always welcome and special rates are available, please contact us for more information.